Saddle Up Little Doggie

It’s been a while since I sat down to write, 10 months to be exact.  Spent this morning reading through some of my last posts and slowly but surely I started to remember why I do this.  It’s not that I’ve lost interest, but after not posting for so long the question I’ve been pondering is not just why, but HOW to get started again.  Which storyline do I pick up?  Which new stories do I add?  Do you start with a “here’s what I’ve been doing for the last year summary”.  An “I’m pissed off about this” or “Wow this is so awesome” post?   While I was contemplating these vagaries, I realized that what I was really doing was procrastinating.  If you want to write, well, just put pencil to paper (or I guess more accurately start tapping on the keyboard) and write some shit down.  I didn’t have a plan when I started blogging, so why do I need one now?  If the past is any measure of the future, once I start writing it’s like an addiction and stories just come flooding out.  Rarely when I start a post do I know where the story is going to go, they seem to take on a life of their own.  I’m also really encouraged that my little blog still gets regular traffic, I get new readers, followers and likes, despite being on extended hiatus.  And friends have been encouraging me to get back to writing, so it’s time to saddle up little doggie and get back at it.

Saddle Up Little Doggie

One of the biggest obstacles I had to get past was that the most important things going on in my life, the things that really mattered, that I really wanted to write about, were too fragile or too personal to risk by blogging about them.  There can be a  world of misunderstanding that’s damn near impossible to undo, relationships and careers can go seriously sideways, sometimes never to recover, if you get it wrong.  Or get it right from your perspective but missing a crucial piece of information, or maybe you made some assumptions but never tested them with truth and then, hello, now you have a mess to clean up.  Sometimes the dye is cast and there is no clean up, that ain’t no fun at all.  So instead of writing what felt like fill in fluff pieces, I just stopped.  Seems pretty dumb now, but then hindsight is always so clear, isn’t it!

hindsight

That’s my serious intellectual hindsight graphic, but this is the one I that made me laugh out loud, cause it’s a whole lot more like how I really react.  One of my favourite expressions “well it seemed like a good idea at the time”.  Yup, uttered that deadpan phrase more than a few times.

hindsight really

So keystrokes have been struck, graphics have been purloined and some good music listened to.  It’s a start and as with all things in life, that’s all we have . . . a place to start.  The sun is shining, I’m inordinately pleased with myself for even this meagre little offering and I’m off to walk the seawall, catch up on some girl talk and grab a great coffee at Parallel 49.  And organize a dinner party for tonight – is roast lamb and paella really too much?  I’m in a cooking mood!

seawall

Can’t wait to see what stories come perking up from the last few months and in this new life of mine!  Dallas Green, otherwise known as City and Colour, has a new record out with Pink called Roseave.  An unlikely but lovely collaboration. You and Me.

Leave a Reply

