Three Lessons

I’m loving following this Grand Adventure. What wouldn’t a lot of us give to chuck it all in and just go aimlessly touring the country for a few months.

BlinkPacking

traffic

Three days into our epic road journey (more about the trip here) of unknown destination and duration, and I have picked up three key principles of trailering around the country. Here they are, in no particular order:

1) Everything costs more than the estimates.
We are attempting to drive, feed, lodge, and entertain this family of three on $100 a day or less. Unless we travel two miles, eat peanut butter crackers, park overnight at a Walmart, and count blades of grass, it looks like most days will land more in the $110 to $120 range.

2) Simplicity sounds nice, but materialism is difficult to escape.
A tape measure. A door latch. A pad and colored pencils. A utility knife. All items I have acquired in the past 24 hours, all of which I deemed necessities at the point of purchase.

I brought my family on this trip to…

View original post 230 more words

2 thoughts on “Three Lessons

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed
    reading it, you are a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually
    come back at some point. I want to encourage you continue your great job, have a nice morning!

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement. I’ve been feeling a bit lax in my writing lately….work, school, family…time crunch! Your comments are timely and appreciated.

Leave a Reply

