Every day has it’s own Awesome Things – just be open to them

You know how sometimes last night can leak over into today and set your day off wrong.  That was me this morning.   Some halfwit kept texting my HOME PHONE, which would ring and I’d get a message from a disembodied mechanical voice saying something profound like “hey, you there dude” – a literal translation of the text.  Nice.  I could have turned it off, but my lovely daughter was out partying (she’s leaving for Australia on the weekend) so I kept thinking (fearing) it was her.  So no sleep for me.  

I was feeling pretty damn cranky this morning  – I slept in, it was pouring rain when I went out at 6am to walk the pooch and I was tired from double shifting it after work at my last couple of sword fighting classes (a whole other post) and the start of my dragonboat practices for the season.   It was shaping up to be a crap day. 

Then a simple little grace note came into my morning.  In a desperate scramble to get dressed I came upon a brand new pair of lace tights, still in their wrapper.  Sorry guys, I know you won’t get this one (and if you do for goodness sake please don’t share) but new tights are so smooth and fresh and silky – one of life’s little treats.  Awesome #1. Then I went to the closet and found my fav little black dress  – still in fresh dry cleaner wrap.  Awesome #2.  My morning was starting  to turn around. 

I got a seat on the bus and one of my favourite songs came on when I hit shuffle on the iTouch (Awesomes #3 and #4).  The song’s “Wounded” written by Stephan Jenkins from Third Eye Blind.   I love, love, love these lyrics – I hope you do, here is the video and I put the lyrics below, they are poetry.  I wonder how Charlize feels about it, but heck if you are in a relationship with someone who writes songs like this, you have to know that sooner or later you are going to end up in a song.  

The guy who put his hands on you
Has got nothing to do with me
And the bruises that you feel will heal
And I hope you come around
Cause we’re missing you
You used to speak so easy
Now you’re afraid to talk to me

It’s like walking with the wounded
Carrying that weight way too far
The concrete pulled you down so hard
Out there with the wounded
Missing you

Well I never claimed to understand
What happens after dark
But my fingers catch sparks at the thought of touching you
When you’re wounded

Let me break it down till I force the issue
We miss your face and you know I wish you
Would come back down to the Dalva Bar
You tell them, that’s just my battle scar
I want to kiss you
And knock them down like we used to
You’re the marigold
Till you’re walking down shaking that ass again
And then you walk on baby walk on
You walk on
On and on
You’re an angel in the pit with her hands in the air
And we’re missing you

Now its fall, and your shoulders get tighter
Nervous flicks on the lighter, boots
Your pissed off poets, your women’s groups
And the friends with you, we should have known this fool
Well I guess we missed the mark
Still my fingers catch the sparks at the thought of
Them touching you
Now you’re wounded

Let me break it down till I force the issue
You never come around, and you know we miss you
Well nobody took your pride away, I said
That’s something people say
Back down the bully to the back of the bus
Cause it’s time for them to be scared of us
Till you’re yelling, how we living cause you got the ball
Then you rock on baby, rock on, your rock on
On and on
You’re a summer time hottie with her socks in the air
Screaming I don’t care baby I don’t care

You say you don’t know
You say you don’t grow
All I know is we’re missing you

You say you don’t know
You say you don’t grow
All I know is we’re missing you

Show up
Show up wounded

My very favourite line is “my fingers catch sparks at the thought of touching you”  – Awesome #5 (or maybe 4a).  And if you have now, or ever had in the past, someone in your life that engenders that sort of passion – that’s a double Awesome Thing.

Awesome #6 – discovered my phone was dead but that my BB charger (for work) will charge both the BB and the smartphone.  Super awesomeness.

And today I finished up a bunch of annoying, mental energy sucking personal little to do things and one huge, time-sucking and tedious work project – Awesomes #7 and 8. 

So if you are having a really bad day, try to look for the little things, the awesomes, that can turn it around.   They are all around us, in every part and action of our lives,  we just have to recognize them.  Have an awesome tonight and tomorrow.

One thought on “Every day has it’s own Awesome Things – just be open to them

  1. Exactly! I’ve found myself dwelling on the negatives the last couple of weeks, but when I started paying more attention to what makes me happy, it turns out that there are a lot of great things that happen every day. Glad your day turned around. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

