the storm beyond the calm. (via Celibacy sprinkled with sex. (prev. 365 ways to stay celibate))

CharliJ put up this great post on her blog a couple of days ago and she has said, so succinctly, exactly what I have thought and my friends and I have talked about so many times. Both the “damsel in distress” vibe and the ‘femme fatale” vibe – so true. I don’t need to do another experiment, I’ve been a victim, or beneficiary, depending on how you look at it, of both.

The damsel in distress vibe can be a lifesaver, or it can be fraught with peril. It’s not only the good guys who are on the lookout for someone to play the hero to, though I have met a few of those very kind and generous souls. There are also the ‘wolves in sheep’s clothing” as I like to think of them – the not so kind ones who pick up on the distress vibe and seek it out, and they don’t have your best interests in mind, not at all. Been there, done that, got the scars. Beware and be on the lookout.

The femme fatale vibe is way more fun!! Had some of that good vibe going on in Vegas last Halloween. Funniest trip ever. Within 2 hours of being wheels down at McCarren I was being chatted up by a tall, dark and handsome drag car racer (is that what you call those really fast ones (the cars I mean) that have a chute off that back?) while downing jello shooters at our hotel bar.

Then there that Big Green Fairy (ie our really cute waiter – it was Halloween after all) – how exactly did I end up lying on the table . . .oh wait, what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas – right! And that was just when I had the potential Femme Fatale vibe going on. With the real thing happening in spades a short time later . . .life got really interesting for a while. Like really interesting.

But CharliJ is also absolutely right that the effect is short-lived. It wears off without regular . . .ummm . . maintenance . . . So better take her excellent advice and take advantage of those windows of opportunity when they present themselves. If only I wasn’t so stunningly oblivious most of the time. But I’m working on it.

the storm beyond the calm. I’m not sure if you’ve ever noticed, but there is this window of time after you break up with someone when you give off a ‘newly single’ vibe that men seem to pick up on and flock to. Don’t believe me? It’s true! It’s been confirmed by at least three of my female friends that they went through months of relationship woes without one a man showing any interest, but as soon as they dumped that sorry ass (or were dumped on their sorry ass), there we … Read More

via Celibacy sprinkled with sex. (prev. 365 ways to stay celibate)

Leave a Reply

