2010: A Personal Best in Books (via Rash Elvis Chants)

This amazing, eclectic list of great reads came up on Freshly Pressed.   It’s a great starting point if you want to challenge yourself to read more non-fiction.  I also loved Jon Krakauer‘s Where Men Win Glory: the Odyssey of Pat Tillman, which isn’t surprising since I’ve always loved Jon’s writing. 
My personal favourite books this year were fiction; The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo series by Swedish writer Stieg Larsson.  I just finished The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, the final book in the trilogy, and I was so sad to say goodbye to Lisbeth and Mikael, although the fact that I identify so strongly with Lisbeth is a just a wee bit worrying  . . .   And I will not be seeing the Hollywood remake movies.  Spare me that, please.   

My writing challenge this year is to write one quality post a week and not just churn out any old thing on a daily basis, just for the sake of posting every day.   And reposting this one doesn’t count – my real post is almost ready for publishing tonight, but I really liked Rash Elvis’ reading list.   Don’t wear out your library cards!

2010: A Personal Best in Books I like the WordPress challenge to write one blog post a day, or a week.  This is my attempt at getting off to a good start, with a quick post wrapping up 2010 in books.  I had started off the year hoping to read 50 books, or at least surpassing my previous record of 40 books.  I passed the 40 book mark in September, breezed past the 50 book mark in O … Read More

via Rash Elvis Chants

Leave a Reply

